Dr. Charles Coale Award Winners

Dr. Coale served as the General Chairman of the AMS for more than 20 years and deserves credit for its continued success. He played an active part in its leadership until his unfortunate passing in August, 1997. Dr. Coale was a very special person with many significant technical accomplishments while working at Lockheed, a passion for living, and a deep abiding interest in the development of young people. The Dr. Charles Coale Award was established to help young individuals who have the potential of making significant contributions to the fields of science, medicine and/or engineering in the not-too-distant future. The award funded a deserving student to attend a US Space or Robotics Camp for many years, and starting in 2022, funds several FIRST robotics teams.

Year Winner
Kalie Ann Kissoon
Erin Ching
Amanda Wayland
2001 Christian Jennings
2002 Carolyn Bero
2003 Martin Miramontes
Rae Brownsberger
2005 Sarah Rutledge
2006 Adam Arsenault
2007 Lydia Lay
2008 Gerhardt Hinkle
2009 Nicholas Riggs
2010 Jennifer Hancock
2011 Riana Wirthlin
2012 Will Early
2013 Mackenzie Hunnicutt
2014 Madeleine McLochlin
2015 Christal Walker
2016 Christopher McCormick
2017 Grace Tiegs
2018 LillyAnne Zilko
2019 Ilyana Bachmann
2020 Kathryn Escobar